Panel of experts

Don Brown (Chair)

Don is a former Commissioner of the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission, and the former Queensland Workplace Rights Ombudsman. Prior to Don's appointment to the Commission, he was the Queensland President of the Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Workers Union.

Peter Garske

Peter is a director of the Queensland Transport and Logistics Council and a Deputy Chairman of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator. Peter was previously the chief executive officer of the Queensland Trucking Association for more than 20 years.

David Peetz

David is a Professor of Employment Relations at Griffith University. David has also held positions at the Australian National University and in the former Commonwealth Department of Industrial Relations, spending over five years in its Senior Executive Service.

Janis Bailey

Janis is an Adjunct Associate Professor at Griffith University's Centre for Work, Organisation and Well Being. She has worked in the WA industrial Commission, for several unions, and for the Australian Centre for Best Practice.

Jo Justo

Jo is a Senior Organising Advocate at the Together Queensland and a National Industrial Officer of the Australian Services Union. Jo has more than 20 years of experience in the union movement, and has acted particularly as a union spokesperson on LGBTI, women and indigenous issues.

The panel will assess all applications in accordance with the selection criteria and will make recommendations to the Minister for Industrial Relations for the allocation of grant funding.

Terms of reference

Last updated 20 December 2018